
Hayward Fire Department 
A Certified Unified Program Agency 
Schedule of Fees: Permit Year 2014 
September 1, 2013 through August 31, 2014 

 

(By Program and Program Category) 
 

1. Hazardous Materials Storage Permit  
 See Schedule of Annual Fees on the back of this page  

 
2. Underground Storage Tank (UST) Operating Permit  

 $656.00 per year for first UST and $142.00 per year for each additional UST  
 

3. Aboveground Petroleum Storage Act (APSA) Requiring a Spill Prevention, Control and  
Countermeasure (SPCC) Plan  

 $233.00 per facility per year  
 

4. Hazardous Materials Business Plan (HMBP) Program  
 $206.00 per year per facility required to maintain an HMBP online with the California Environmental  
 Reporting System (CERS) 
 

5. California Accidental Release Prevention Program (Cal/ARP)  
 $2,490.00 per year for a Large facility  
 $1,244.00 per year for a Small facility 

6. Hazardous Waste Generator Program 
 7. On-Site Treatment of Hazardous Waste or 

Tiered Permit Program 

HWGen Code Quantity/Month Annual Fee  Tiered Permit Category Annual Fee 

CESQG:  
Conditionally 
Exempt SQG 

Up to 27 gallons,  
220 pounds   
or 100 kilograms 

$183.00 
per year 

 Permit By Rule, Fixed Unit  $282.00 

Permit By Rule, Transportable $282.00 

Conditionally Authorized $248.00 

SQG:  
Small Quantity 
Generator 

Up to 270 gallons,  
2,200 pounds   
or 1,000 kilograms   

$206.00 
per year 

 Conditionally Exempt, 
Specified Waste  

$214.00 

Conditionally Exempt, 
Small Quantity Treatment 

$214.00 

LQG:  
Large Quantity 
Generator 

More than 270 gallons,    
2,200 pounds   
or 1,000 kilograms 

$313.00 
per year 

 Conditionally Exempt, 
Commercial Laundry 

$214.00 

Conditionally Exempt, Limited $214.00 
 

8. State Surcharge – The State surcharges, set by California Environmental Protection Agency (Cal/EPA), 
are collected by the City and transmitted to the State.  These are used to fund the costs incurred by State 
agencies responsible for statewide standards, and oversight of the unified program. 

Description of Surcharge Participating State Agencies Annual Surcharge 

CUPA Oversight  CalEPA: Environmental Protection Agency  $   35.00  per facility  

Underground Storage Tank Program  SWRCB: State Water Resources Control Board  $   15.00  per UST  

CalARP Program  OES:  Office of Emergency Services $ 270.00  per facility  



HAZARDOUS MATERIALS STORAGE PERMIT 
SCHEDULE OF ANNUAL FEES 

  
The annual Hazardous Materials Storage Permit fee is based on the variety (number of types) of hazardous materials 
stored and the maximum combined quantity of hazardous materials that may be found at a facility at any one time. 

           RANGE DESCRIPTION PERMIT FEE 
  

1A Storage of 1 or more types of hazardous materials  
Solid - Up to 500 pounds  
Liquid - Up to 55 gallons 
Gaseous -  Up to 200 cubic feet at S.T.P. (Standard Temperature & 

 Pressure, defined as 0°C & 14.7 pounds per square inch) 

 $   245.00 per year  

   

2A Storage of 1 or more types of hazardous materials  
Solid - Between 500 and 5,000 pounds  
Liquid - Between 55 and 550 gallons  
Gaseous - Between 200 and 2,000 cubic feet at S.T.P. 

 $   279.00 per year  

   

3A Storage of 1 to 5 types of hazardous materials  
Solid - Between 5,000 and 25,000 pounds  
Liquid - Between 550 and 2,750 gallons  
Gaseous - Between 2,000 and 10,000 cubic feet at S.T.P. 

 $   346.00 per year  

   

3B Storage of 6 or more types of hazardous materials  
Solid - Between 5,000 and 25,000 pounds  
Liquid - Between 550 and 2,750 gallons  
Gaseous - Between 2,000 and 10,000 cubic feet at S.T.P. 

 $   380.00 per year  

   

4A Storage of 1 to 5 types of hazardous materials  
Solid - Between 25,000 and 50,000 pounds  
Liquid - Between 2,750 and 5,500 gallons  
Gaseous - Between 10,000 and 20,000 cubic feet at S.T.P.  

 $   397.00 per year  

   

4B Storage of 6 or more types of hazardous materials  
Solid - Between 25,000 and 50,000 pounds  
Liquid - Between 2,750 and 5,500 gallons  
Gaseous - Between 10,000 and 20,000 cubic feet at S.T.P. 

 $   414.00 per year  

   

5A Storage of 1 to 5 types of hazardous materials  
Solid - 50,000 pounds or more  
Liquid - 5,500 gallons or more  
Gaseous - 20,000 cubic feet or more at S.T.P.  

 $   448.00 per year  

   

5B Storage of 6 to 10 types of hazardous materials  
Solid - 50,000 pounds or more  
Liquid - 5,500 gallons or more  
Gaseous - 20,000 cubic feet or more at S.T.P. 

  
 $   482.00 per year  

   

5C Storage of 11 or more types of hazardous materials  
Solid - 50,000 pounds or more  
Liquid - 5,500 gallons or more  
Gaseous - 20,000 cubic feet or more at S.T.P.  

 $   516.00 per year  
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